My way of version control

Every developer has git in his/her toolbox. I love using git. Sometimes, I feel like coding just so that I can try some git commands. It's fun and when I mess up, it's super exciting. In this post, I want to share my way of using git.

So, the basics!

git add *

Whenever I make any changes and want them to reflect, I stage them.

git commit -m <message>

After all changes, I commit them

git push origin head

And when I am very sure that I am done, I push them to my remote repository

There are a few terms to be familiarized.

Origin - It is the remote repository we would have created in our profile.

Upstream - It is the repo which we have forked to contribute

Forks - The copy of the upstream we make, usually called origin

head - The tip of the branch, or the current branch

master/main